الموضوع: المناصرة، والتوعية – سوف تكون نتائج هذا البحث مفيدة للتوعية بشأن العقبات التي تواجهها المنظمات العاملة على الأزمة السورية أو في مناطق النزاع الأخرى – كما ستفيد في تقديم توصيات ملموسة حول السياسات التي يتوجب تطويرها لمعالجة المشكلة بشكل أفضل وتبادل الخبرات والتعرف على أفضل الممارسات. مع التأكيد بشكل خاص على ضرورة تجنب إلحاق أي ضرر بالمنظمات غير الحكومية والبنوك من خلال الكشف عن أي معلومات حساسة أو مضللة.
المستفيدون: الموظفون والعاملون في المنظمات غير الحكومية المتأثرة بالعقوبات واللوائح المالية، بما في ذلك قوانين مكافحة غسل الأموال، وقوانين مكافحة تمويل الإرهاب.
الإشكالية: القيود المالية والتحديات المصرفية التي تواجهها المنظمات (السورية وغير السورية على حد سواء) والمنظمات الدولية فيما يتعلق بأنظمة العقوبات القائمة، والقوانين والقيود المالية والمصرفية المفروضة لمكافحة الإرهاب، ولوائح البلدان المضيفة.
النطاق الجغرافي للبحث: تركيا، لبنان، كردستان العراق، والمنظمات الدولية والمنظمات المحلية (السورية وغير السورية) في بعض البلدان الأوروبية العاملة على الأزمة السورية، أو العاملة داخل البلاد (سوريا).

منهجية البحث

بالإضافة إلى البيانات الثانوية المتوافرة من المصادر المفتوحة أو المراجع الخاصة التي تمت مشاركتها مع فريق البحث، فقد تم جمع البيانات الأولية أيضاً من خلال مقابلات مطولة تم إجراؤها مع حوالي 50 عضواً من أعضاء المنظمات المحلية والدولية، ومسؤولي الاتحاد الأوروبي والدول الأعضاء، وكذلك الخبراء في المجال المصرفي وفي مجال العقوبات. كما تم توزيع استبيان موحد والإجابة عليه من قبل حوالي عشرين منظمة سورية موزعة في دول الشتات المختلفة (لبنان، تركيا، كردستان العراق، ألمانيا، فرنسا، المملكة المتحدة، وبلجيكا). أجريت معظم المقابلات عبر سكايب وعبر الهاتف (أكثر من 30 مقابلة)، فيما تم إجراء المقابلات المتبقية عبر البريد الإلكتروني، لا سيما مع المنظمات التي أجابت عن أسئلة الاستبيان. كما تم إجراء مقابلات مع المنظمات المحلية والمنظمات الدولية الموجودة في سوريا.
تم الالتزام بشرط إخفاء هوية المشاركين في العديد من المقابلات التي إجراؤها مع المنظمات الإنسانية وممثلي الاتحاد الأوروبي والدول الأعضاء.

القائمة

Methodology

  1. Home
  2. chevron_right
  3. Invisible Sanctions
  4. chevron_right
  5. Methodology

Objective: Advocacy and informing – The outcomes of the research will be useful for awareness-raising on the issues facing organisations working on the Syrian crisis and other conflict areas, and give concrete policy recommendations to better tackle the problem and share best practices. A special emphasis will be put on avoiding any harm to non-governmental organisations (NGOs) and banks by exposing any sensitive or misleading information.

Target: People working in NGOs affected by sanctions and wider financial regulations, including anti-money laundering (AML) and counter-terrorist financing (CFT).

Problematic: Financial limitations and banking challenges faced by NGOs (Syrian and non-Syrian alike) and INGOs regarding sanctions, anti-terror financial and banking laws and restrictions, and hosting countries’ regulations.

Geographical Scope of Research: Turkey, Lebanon, Kurdistan Iraq, INGOS and NGOs (Syrian and non-Syrian) in some European countries working on Syria and within the country.

Research Methodology

In addition to the secondary data accessed through open-source and privately-shared resources available on the matter, primary data was also gathered through extensive interviews with around 50 individuals from NGOs, INGOs, EU and member states officials, and experts in banking and sanctions. A standardised survey was also distributed and answered to around twenty Syrian diaspora NGOs based in various countries (Lebanon, Turkey, Kurdistan Iraq, Germany, France, Great Britain, Belgium). The majority of interviews were conducted over skype and on the phone (more than 30), while the rest were carried out in emails, especially for the NGOs which answered the survey. NGOs and INGOs based in Syria have been interviewed as well.

Many interviews with organizations and EU and member states have been conducted on the condition of anonymity.

Menu